School of Psychology - Leading psychological science, scholarship and practice


Academic staff

We have internationally recognised scholars on staff who are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching. You can view our staff profiles by searching the staff listing.

Title

Name

Research Area

Office

Phone

(09) 373 7599

Email

Professor William Hayward
(Head of School)
Visual Cognition: face perception, object perception, visual attention 302-243 ext 88516 or PA on 88557 w.hayward@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Angela Arnold-Saritepe Applied behaviour analysis in home, school, and residential environments. Interests include challenging behaviour, and the development of verbal and social behaviour in children and adolescents with developmental disabilities (including autism spectrum disorders) 301-338B ext 88518 a.arnold-saritepe@auckland.ac.nz
Professor

Donna Rose Addis

On Leave S2, 2017 and S1, 2018

Aging and dementia, autobiographical memory, future thinking, identity and self, hippocampal function, neuroimaging (fMRI), neuropsychology 302-371 ext 88552 d.addis@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor

Quentin Atkinson

On Leave S1 2017

Evolution of language, religion, sustainability and large-scale cooperation, and the human expansion from Africa 302-361 ext 84316 q.atkinson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr 

Elaine Ballard

 

Phonological theory, first language acquistion, language development in Pasifika and Asian languages, billingualism in speech and language development, paediatric language disability and disorders 721-313 ext 87502 e.ballard@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Suzanne Barker-Collo  Neurorehabilitation, neuropsychology, clinical 302-267 ext 88517 s.barker-collo@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Virginia Braun Critical and feminist psychology, sex/sexuality, gendered bodies, practices and identities 302-245 ext 87561 v.braun@auckland.ac.nz 
  Michelle Burstall    302-339 ext 88526 m.burstall@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Linda Cameron Health, self-regulation theory, risk perception, environmental psychology 301-220   l.cameron@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor

Claire Cartwright

On Leave S2, 2017

Clinical (theory and practice), impact of divorce and remarriage 302-263 ext 86269 c.cartwright@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor  Michael Corballis Cognition, laterality, neuropsychology, evolution 301-228 ext 88561 m.corballis@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Paul Corballis Visual perception, attention and cognition 301-316A ext 88562 p.corballis@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Sarah Cowie Learning, choice, timing, and quantiative modelling 302-270 ext 88450 sarah.cowie@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Sue Cowie Clinical, cognitive behavioral therapy, women's and children's issues 302-264 ext 88513 s.cowie@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Michael Davison Learning and signal detection, choice, aversive control   ext 88540 or 88486 m.davison@auckland.ac.nz 
  Selena Donaldson Acquired brain injury, fluency disorders, supervision, clinical education, cognitive communication disorders, aphasia, pragmatic communication disorders 721-318 ext 86649 s.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Margaret Dudley   302-260 ext 86869 m.dudley@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor  John Duckitt Social, political, cross-cultural, prejudice   ext 88511 j.duckitt@auckland.ac.nz 
  Alaina Dunnett    302-335   a.dunnett@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Douglas Elliffe
 
Experimental analysis of behaviour: animal and human 301-236 ext 85262 d.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
  Liz Fairgray Hearing impairment, auditory-verbal therapy, paediatric speech & language delay 730-133 ext 89265 l.fairgray@auckland.ac.nz
  Philippa Friary
Speech Science Clinical Director
Clinical supervision, clinical education, interprofessional education and working with people with Parkinson's Disease 721-315 ext 82726 pm.williams@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Nicola Gavey  Critical psychology of gender 302-359 ext 86877 n.gavey@auckland.ac.nz
Dr 

Nigel George

Psychology Clinic Director

Successful ageing, working with people who have behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia, life span development 302-266 ext 85267 n.george@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Kerry Gibson Psychological trauma, child and adolescent mental health 302-265 ext 88556 kl.gibson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Russell Gray  Language evolution, animal cognition, evolutionary psychology, nature/nurture debate 301-228 ext 88525 rd.gray@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Shiloh Groot Indigenous worldviews and communities, resilience, poverty, homelessness and health 301-217B ext 88555 s.groot@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Jeff Hamm Mental transformations, visual illusions, visual attention 301-321A ext 88519 j.hamm@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Linda Hand Language disorders in children, diversity in communication disorders, functional linguistics 721-312 ext 88735 l.hand@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Niki Harré Community, social, youth development, driver attitudes, political activism 301-224B ext 88512 n.harre@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor

Michael Hautus 

On Leave S2, 2017

Food sensory science, psychophysics, sensory evaluation, preference for foods, hedonic measurement 302-375 ext 85924 m.hautus@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Annette Henderson Language and cognitive development in early childhood (especially conventionality and collaboration) 302-225 ext 82521 a.henderson@auckland.ac.nz
 

Fiona Howard

On Leave S1, 2017

Adult clinical psychology; drug and alcohol abuse; clinical supervision, coaching and mentoring; positive psychology; stress and well-being 302-262 ext 88420 f.howard@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Barry Hughes Perceptual-motor control, active touch, spatial cognition 302-363 ext 85265 b.hughes@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor John Irwin Psychophysics, sensory processes, econometrics, econophysics, detection theory   ext 88555 rj.irwin@auckland.ac.nz
  Bianca Jackson Paediatric dysphagia
721-317 ext 86604 bianca.jackson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Ian Kirk Systems and cognitive neuroscience, neural bases of memory, EEG, fMRI 301-321B ext 88524 or 88421 i.kirk@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Tony Lambert  Visual attention, eye movements, conscious awareness, laterality 302-369 ext 88520 t.lambert@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor  Ian Lambie  Adolescent and adult offending, arson, family therapy 302-261 ext 85012 i.lambie@auckland.ac.nz
  Sarah Leadley Childhood feeding disorders - food refusal, food selectivity, oral motor skills. Assessment and treatment of challenging behaviour - school and home. Evidence based tertiary teaching. 301-335   s.leadley@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Jade Le Grice
Kaupapa Maori research, intersectionality, sexualisation, reproductive decision making, sexual and reproductive health, maternity, abortion 301-217A ext 86870 j.legrice@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Clare McCann Acquired speech and language disorders 721-307 ext 85221 c.mccann@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Sam Manuela   301-224A ext   s.manuela@auckland.ac.nz
Professional Teaching Fellow Andrea Mead   302-337 ext 86253 a.mead@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Anna Miles Adult swallowing disorders - assessment and treatment 721-314 ext 86649 a.miles@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Danny Osborne Social psychology; political psychology; intergroup relations; prejudice, stereotyping and discrimination; legitimacy 301-238B ext 82287 d.osborne@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Nickola Overall Social psychology, intimate relationships, interpersonal regulation and influence 301-235A ext 89120 n.overall@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Glynn Owens Health and fitness, cancer and dying, eating disorders 302-268 ext 86845 g.owens@auckland.ac.nz 
Dr  Elizabeth Peterson Educational psychology, beliefs and expectations, student achievement and engagement, individual differences 302-223 ext 89693 e.peterson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Katrina Phillips Applied behaviour analysis with populations who have intellectual disabilities and/or pervasive developmental disabilities 301-338A ext 84468 kj.phillips@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Suzanne Purdy Auditory processing disorder, audiology, auditory evoked potentials, speech and language disorders 721-319 ext 82073 sc.purdy@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Fred Seymour  Family therapy, parent separation, child sexual abuse 302-258 ext 88414 f.seymour@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Chris Sibley Social psychology, intergroup relations, personality measurement, research methods in psychology, longitudinal data analysis, sampling and survey design 301-238A ext 88353 c.sibley@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Alex Taylor Evolution and structure of intelligence 302-357 ext 85010  alexander.taylor@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Lynette Tippett  Alzheimer's, Huntington's, Parkinson's, neuropsychology 302-373 ext 88551 l.tippett@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Javier Virues-Ortega Operant models of language and language acquisition; neural effects of behavioural interventions; meta-analyses of behavioural interventions; behavioural interventions for dementia; functional analysis and treatment of problem behaviour 301-335B ext 88851 j.virues-ortega@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Karen Waldie Developmental neuropsychology, cognitive disorders (e.g. dyslexia and ADHD), cerebral laterality 301-335A ext 88521 k.waldie@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Margaret Wetherell Developing discourse theory and methods for social research and the study of identity 301-220  ext 82933 m.wetherell@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gwenda Willis Criminal justice/forensic psychology including sexual offending (aetiology, treatment, prevention) and strengths-based approaches to offender rehabilitation 302-259 ext 84395 g.willis@auckland.ac.nz