School of Psychology - Leading psychological science, scholarship and practice


Academic staff

We have internationally recognised scholars on staff who are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching. You can view our staff profiles by searching the staff listing.

Title Name Research area Phone +64 9 373 7599 Email
Professor William Hayward
(Head of School)
Visual Cognition: Face perception, object perception, visual attention. ext 88516 or PA on 88557 w.hayward@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Donna Rose Addis Aging and dementia, autobiographical memory, future thinking, identity and self, hippocampal function, neuroimaging (fMRI), neuropsychology ext 88552 d.addis@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Angela Arnold-Saritepe Applied behaviour analysis, developmental disabilities ext 88518 a.arnold-saritepe@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Quentin Atkinson Evolution of language, religion, sustainability and large-scale cooperation, and the human expansion from Africa ext 84316 q.atkinson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Elaine Ballard Phonological theory, first language acquistion, language development in Pasifika and Asian languages, billingualism in speech and language development, paediatric language disability and disorders ext 87502 e.ballard@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Suzanne Barker-Collo  Neurorehabilitation, neuropsychology, clinical ext 88517 s.barker-collo@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Virginia Braun Critical and feminist psychology, sex/sexuality, gendered bodies, practices and identities ext 87561 v.braun@auckland.ac.nz 
  Michelle Burstall    ext 88526 m.burstall@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Linda Cameron Health, self-regulation theory, risk perception, environmental psychology   l.cameron@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Claire Cartwright Clinical (theory and practice), impact of divorce and remarriage ext 86269 c.cartwright@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Erana Cooper Kaupapa Māori – Psychology ext 86869 el.cooper@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Helena Cooper Thomas  Organisational socialisation, person-organisation fit, psychological contract, employee engagement, and work wellbeing ext 82833 h.cooper-thomas@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor  Michael Corballis Cognition, laterality, neuropsychology, evolution ext 88561 m.corballis@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Paul Corballis Visual perception, attention, and cognition. ext 88562 p.corballis@auckland.ac.nz
  Sue Cowie Clinical, cognitive behavioral therapy, women's and children's issues ext 88513 s.cowie@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Michael Davison Learning and signal detection, choice, aversive control ext 88540 or 88486 m.davison@auckland.ac.nz 
Emeritus Professor  John Duckitt Social, political, cross-cultural, prejudice ext 88511 j.duckitt@auckland.ac.nz 
Associate Professor Douglas Elliffe
 
Experimental analysis of behaviour: animal and human ext 85262 d.elliffe@auckland.ac.nz
  Liz Fairgray Hearing impairment, auditory-verbal therapy, paediatric speech & language delay ext 89265 l.fairgray@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor  Nicola Gavey  Critical psychology of gender ext 86877 n.gavey@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Nigel George (Psychology Clinic Director)  Successful ageing, working with people who have behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia, life span development ext 85267 n.george@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Kerry Gibson Psychological trauma, Child and adolescent mental health ext 88556 kl.gibson@auckland.ac.nz
  Bianca Gordon   ext 86604 b.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Russell Gray  Language evolution, animal cognition, evolutionary psychology, nature/nurture debate ext 88525 rd.gray@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Shiloh Groot Indigenous worldviews and communities, resilience, poverty, homelessness and health ext 88555 s.groot@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Jeff Hamm  Mental transformations, visual illusions, visual attention ext 88519 j.hamm@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Linda Hand Language disorders in children, diversity in communication disorders, functional linguistics ext 88735 l.hand@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Niki Harré Community, social, youth development, driver attitudes, political activism ext 88512 n.harre@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Michael Hautus  Food sensory science, psychophysics, sensory evaluation, preference for foods, hedonic measurement ext 85924 m.hautus@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Annette Henderson Language and cognitive development in early childhood (esp. conventionality, collaboration) ext 82521 a.henderson@auckland.ac.nz
  Fiona Howard Adult clinical psychology; drug and alcohol abuse; clinical supervision, coaching and mentoring; positive psychology; stress and well-being. ext 88420 f.howard@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Barry Hughes Perceptual-motor control, active touch, spatial cognition ext 85265 b.hughes@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Ian Kirk Systems and cognitive neuroscience, neural bases of memory, EEG, fMRI ext 88524 or 88421 i.kirk@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Tony Lambert  Visual attention, eye movements, conscious awareness, laterality ext 88520 t.lambert@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor  Ian Lambie  Adolescent and adult offending, arson, family therapy ext 85012 i.lambie@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Brenda Lobb Ergonomics, human factors, industrial/organisational ext 86870 b.lobb@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Jane Magnusson Sport Psychology and Clinical Psychology   j.magnusson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Clare McCann Acquired speech and language disorders ext 85221 c.mccann@auckland.ac.nz
Professional Teaching Fellow Andrea Mead   ext 86253 a.mead@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Anna Miles Adult swallowing disorders - assessment and treatment ext 86649 a.miles@auckland.ac.nz
Dr  Oliver Mudford Applied behaviour analysis, intellectual disabilities (mental retardation) ext 82319 o.mudford@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Danny Osborne Social psychology; political psychology; intergroup relations; prejudice, stereotyping, and discrimination; legitimacy ext 82287 d.osborne@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Nickola Overall Social psychology, intimate relationships, interpersonal regulation and influence ext 89120 n.overall@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Glynn Owens Health and fitness, cancer and dying, eating disorders ext 86845 g.owens@auckland.ac.nz 
Dr  Elizabeth Peterson Educational psychology, beliefs and expectations, student achievement and engagement, individual differences ext 89693 e.peterson@auckland.ac.nz
 Dr Chris Podlesnik Learning, behavior persistence and relapse, stimulus control  ext 83401  c.podlesnik@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Suzanne Purdy (Head of Discipline, Speech Science) Auditory processing disorder, audiology, auditory evoked potentials, speech and language disorders ext 82073 sc.purdy@auckland.ac.nz
Professor  Fred Seymour  Family therapy, parent separation, child sexual abuse ext 88414 f.seymour@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Chris Sibley  Intergroup and interpersonal relations, personality, environmental psychology ext 88353 c.sibley@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Alex Taylor Evolution and structure of intelligence ext 85010  alexander.taylor@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Lynette Tippett  Alzheimer's, Huntington's, Parkinson's, neuropsychology ext 88551 l.tippett@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Karen Waldie Developmental neuropsychology, cognitive disorders (e.g., dyslexia, ADHD), cerebral laterality ext 88521 k.waldie@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Margaret Wetherell Developing discourse theory and methods for social research and the study of identity  ext 82933 m.wetherell@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Gwenda Willis Criminal justice/forensic psychology including sexual offending (aetiology, treatment, prevention) and strengths-based approaches to offender rehabilitation ext 84395 g.willis@auckland.ac.nz